Image taken from Eckerd College Organization of Students website.

Maddie Reifsteck was elected 2023-2024 president of the Eckerd College Organization of Students on Friday after five days of voting.

Reifsteck is currently ECOS executive vice president and a junior marine science and creative writing major. Madi Ryan will take her place as executive vice president.

The 2023-2024 ECOS executive council is as follows: 

President: Maddie Reifsteck 

Executive Vice President (EVP): Madi Ryan 

Vice President of Financial Affairs (VPFA): Anna Novak 

Vice President of Academic Affairs (VPAA): Aja Jones

Vise President of Student Engagement (VPSE): Prech Potesak 

“I’m excited to boost camaraderie within ECOS and the Eckerd community,” Reifsteck said. “I can’t wait to talk to and meet more students.” 

Evan Kohuth, ECOS director of elections, thanked the Eckerd community for participating in this year’s elections. He worked with the elections committee to facilitate the weeklong election period. 

“There was about 25% participation in the elections this year,” Kohuth said. “It was a bit less than in years past, which reached close to 500 voters. But it was a loud participation from the student body.” 

The elections committee is Kohuth, Silje van Mierlo, Heather Truong and Tayla Binienda. 


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.