ECOS Photo

The ECOS office is located in Brown Hall.

ECOS executive council elections results were announced on April 2 just over two hours after the polls closed. With 418 votes, first-year Ava McLeod won the race for presidency against Will Stanley. Evan Cramer won executive vice president (EVP) by nine votes against Briana Hashim. Louis Borrelli was elected vice president of Academic Affairs and Olivia Wicki was elected vice president of student engagement. Maice Clanton, who ran unopposed, was elected vice president of financial affairs. 

“This experience is surreal and it just makes me more and more thrilled to fight for every student voice to be heard and to really make this school into the Eckerd that we all want to see,” McLeod said.

According to the results of the election sent by Linnea Goodwin, around 43% of the student body voted in this election. ECOS elections historically have had lower voter turnout.

Every candidate emphasized diversity and inclusion in their campaign. McLeod expressed in a debate on March 24 that holding students and administration accountable for diversity and inclusion is key. She said she wants to work with the administration about making a reporting system for racial incidents separate from Title IX. She also wants changes in the Human Experience curriculum to be more inclusive. 

Cramer campaigned on his “Triton Plan,” which he collaborated on with presidential candidate Will Stanley. The plan calls for the creation of a Disability Alliance group, as none exist on campus, and to work closely with admissions to increase diversity leadership scholarships. 

The “Triton Plan” also calls for the creation of the Eckerd College Diversity Council, where diversity groups can work with a president of the council, who would be a member of the senate. This is slightly similar to the current Culture Council and Culture Council Liaison. The Culture Council Liaison is an appointed position on the executive council that current ECOS President Will Shedden created after being elected last year.

Briana Hashim and Evan Kohuth also ran for EVP. Hashim campaigned with diversity and inclusion as a priority issue, while Kohuth cited his history as an ECOS senator as making him qualified for the position. 

Louis Borrelli won vice president of academic affairs against Madeline Riley by 12 votes. Olivia Wicki received 314 votes for vice president of student engagement. She ran against Makayla Doran and Josie Hook.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.